Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a 17 year old with a new to me 1986 Graduate with about 76,000 miles on it that looks like it's going to be a project car. I put in new fluids, spark plugs, oil, distributor cap - the works. The car still seemed to be lacking power, so I finally got around to doing a compression test. On cold engine, cylinders 1,2, and 4 all put out around 115 psi but #3 only had around 45 psi. Ran the engine for a few minutes to double check and compression only rose to about 55 psi. Funny thing is the engine sounds completely normal. I've shown the car to two mechanic friends who didn't see or hear anything out of the ordinary(even though the car was only running on 3 cylinders) I have limited funds and little experience(especially with this fuel injection magic), but I'm looking to learn. Quite a few other problems, but I figure this one is the most pressing. Any help or advice would be appreciated.

-Eric
(I'll try to put up a few pics soon)

·
Registered
1,051 Posts
Eric,
Do a search on this- a 17 year old should know how to use the search feature...

You'll want to do a compression test when the engine is at operating temperature. Squirt some oil into the cylinder if its low and repeat compression test to determine if its the valve/guide or rings.

One good investment is a technical manual. I also recommend the Alfa Romeo Owners Bible by Pat Braden. Read them both. When I didn't have money, I spent a lot of time reading. You've also discovered the internet has websites with info on these cars. Since you've got more time than money, there's a lot of things to learn about these cars you can do other than buy and swap parts.

Peace.

·
Administrator
17,528 Posts
If you can a buy/borrow/steal a leak down tester you can pinpoint the likely problem. It could be a leaky/burned valve, stuck valve, worn/broken piston ring, faulty head gasket (or any combination of them).