Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I just bought my first Alfa a couple of weeks ago.
As the title of the thread mentions, its a Stepnose GT Junior veloce.
It needs plenty of work, and this is my first project car, so you'll probably see rather a lot of me.

It aparently started life as a 1500, but someware along the way its ended up with a 2L motor in the engine bay. (Not that I'm complaining. :D)
The guys that did that though didn't change the final drive ratio, so I tend to run out of gears on the highway.

Any suggestions as to what I should get? I'm not quite sure what the current ratio is, but I have heard there is are limited slip diffs out there.

I also had the idea to wrap up the exaust manifold with some of that insulation cloth. Is this a good idea, or would I just be wasting my time?

And finally although I'll keep the origional wheels, I was wondering if you guys knew of any decient makes of alloy wheels in a old school style?

·
Registered
529 Posts
Congratulations Jeff,

Your current differential ratio is probably 4.56:1. If you want to "relax" it a bit, you could put in a limited slip unit from an 80's spider (they had 4.1:1 ratio with limited slip).

There are many threads showing different wheel options. GTA replicas and panasports are always popular and look vintage.

If you have a stock cast iron exhaust manifold, there is really no need to wrap it. It dissipates relatively little heat.

A couple of things... your car probably isn't a "junior veloce" as I’m pretty sure Alfa never made such combo. It is likely a ’66 sprint GT that came with a 1600 (they were never offered with 1500s). You can find out exactly what it is by submitting information to the Alfa Archive.

Great car! Have fun!

·
Registered
276 Posts
Hi Geoff,

Sounds like a great project, you'll have a lot of fun with it and hate it at the same time.