Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Premium Member
21,688 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Some of you saw this on BaT. I bought this 74 128 wagon on Thursday. Saw it on CL, emailed, turned out to belong to a friend's step-son, so the deal went pretty smoothly. I had helped the friend with his Super and Berlina, we're all best pals.

Car was owned for some years by a Fiat nut in Oakland, I hear, don't know him, he did most of the big work, including suspension mods, 1500 engine out of an X1/9, Coupe dash, and Coupe steering wheel. Was originally a purer yellow, was repainted long ago more of what I'd call mustard or ochre. I like it better. A few rust spots, but unwrecked, and really remarkably straight and clean. I drove a 128 two-door some in high school, agreed to buy a one-owner 77 four-door off CL a couple years ago, but the sellers sold it out from under me after we made a deal. I started out on cars with five 850s, and later had a Dino, so I have some Fiat experience.

I love this thing. Smooth, good torque for what it is. It's too stiff for my taste, but I'm not sure I'll go to the trouble to do anything about it. I immediately removed the tube bumpers, put the stock ones back on. I have made small fixes and adjustments all over, but the kid who owned it commuted from Marin to SF in it for a year; never missed a beat. I'm digging it more than my Super at the moment, but that may not last. It's not a great freeway car, but around town, it can't be beat. The farting duck Fiat exhaust note makes me laugh every time.

Andrew

Attachments

·
Registered
1,358 Posts
That's really cool Andrew. Seems like a quite few Alfa folks started out in Fiats of some sort. We had heaps in New Zealand, lots of 128's included. Hardly any wagons though, mostly 4-door sedans. Enjoy!

·
Registered
2,021 Posts
I'm glad an enthusiast bought it.
I was thinking about it, but I really want a 2 door sedan.