Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1991 Alfa Romeo 164L 5 speed 3.0 12v
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Hello my name is Chris, I’m from Ohio and have been a car guy my whole life, I have collected Chevy Citations my whole life and have 5 of them.
This Alfa Romeo got traded into the dealership I work at as a mechanic, and I thought it was really cool, and for 800 dollars, I decided to take a chance on it, I’m a good mechanic but I’ve never owned a European car, so it’s all new to me, but it does run and drive!
The car....So it’s a 1991 Alfa Romeo 164L 5 speed manual with a 12v 3.0 v6, 229000 miles on the car, it definitely needs some work but I’m very excited to tackle learning about this car and getting it roadworthy and enjoying it!

·
Premium Member
1,604 Posts
Welcome, awesome with the picture on the first post. A 164 is a nice car. Enjoy the journey. If there is no record of a recent timing belt change that should happen fairly soon.

·
Registered
630 Posts
Hey!! Another 164 owner here in Ohio!! I’m not that far from you! You will find a lot of useful info here on the forums. Like the guy before me said, get documents on when that timing belt was changed. Congrats on the new Alfa!

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks ! Glad to be here, I have a LOT to learn about this car, I’ll put up a detailed post with lots of pictures this coming weekend in the 164 thread, I’ve heard Alfa’s are a headache lol, I’m ready to fix this baby up and drive her!

·
Premium Member
1,604 Posts
It’s a 1991, it’s 30 years old. It will be no more of a headache than any other similar car. More involved than a civic, less than a rolls. Some things will be easier to deal with than modern cars, some won’t. As long as the journey is fun for you. I sure enjoy mine.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I just posted a much more detailed explanation of the car and many more pics in the 164-168 category

·
Administrator
17,768 Posts