Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,026 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey Guys:

I bought some new 35 mm venturis from Pierce Manifolds for my Spider. I've been using 32 mm for several years but Enrique won't let me pass and I'm seeing John M too close in the WINK. (Objects in Mirrors may not be as close as they appear.) Never the less, I want to vent this engine with 35mm vents so what is a good E-tube setup- Where do I start. The Head is a old Sperry completely ported and polished unit with large valves. I believe the pistons are 10.1 :1. The manifold is the Series two cast iron into a stock exhaust.

Please give me a guide for purchasing some Emulsion tubes, Main and Air jets.

I have a bunch of E-tube set stached away somewhere and I'll pull those out and add them to the post so youwill know what I have available.

EXTRA SET F-11 TUBES
EXTRA SET F-16 TUBES
EXTRA SET OF F-34 TUBES

CAN YOU GUYS WORK WITH THESE?

Thanks for the help.

Bud Feigel
Lexington, Kentucky

·
Premium Member
14,941 Posts
The rule of thumb on main jets is go up 10 for a 2mm increase in venturi. So if you have 130's now you should try 145's. You may not have to change emulsion tubes. I would try to get the main jets right first then see if you need to change air jets or idle jets. There is a possibility that you will not have to change them.

·
Registered
1,026 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Wow! The 35mm venturis really put a happy face on that engine. Thanks Ed for thr advice. I used 1.25 Fuel Jets and 235 Air Jets in the F-11 Emulsion tubes. Maybe this early Sunday Morning I can do a plug cut to see if I need to lean it any more. There still might be some more power there.

Bud Feigel
LExington, Kentucky

·
Trained (ex)Professional, , 1953-2018 RIP
16,232 Posts