Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just took on a project for my neighbor. Restoring the engine for a 1965 GTA with Twin Plug head. I have been a High Performance Engine Machinist since '84 (recently retired). This is the first engine I've been involved with an engine that has removable "wet" cylinder sleeves. My quandary now is regarding the condition of the sleeves.

The neighbor has a "Build Sheet" from the last owner showing it was done 10 yrs ago. Compression is stated as being 12:1, using Domed JE forged pistons. This car's life was spent as a rally car, and will be gently used as such again. The engine seemed to have lost it's "punch" shortly after purchase. Leaking down the cylinders as follows;

#1- 12%
#2- 21%
#3- 32%
#4- 12%

Leakage mostly was noted from crankcase, indicating ring seal, although I suspected a head gasket failure at first. Upon removing the head (which was the hardest head removal I've ever encountered) there was no signs of gasket failure (Victor Reinz composition gasket). The sleeves had a copper O-ring installed that barely contacted the O.D. of the gasket fire fire. The head had been cut for an O-ring, but none were installed.

After removing the pistons/rods and removing the rings to check end gaps, it was obvious that the top ring had lost a lot of tension likely due to over heating. The gap measured .016" for top, and .024" for 2nd. The pistons appear to be in great shape dimensionally and we would like to reuse with new Total Seal rings. Piston/wall clearance is somewhat large and the bore tapered and out-of-round. We are looking at having LA Sleeve supply new sleeves, honed by them to fit the pistons. LA Sleeve could not provide an answer to my MAIN questions.