Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been building myself a replica 1930's AR racer for the last 4 years. Always wanted one, could not afford or risk driving a real one, not a fan of the Pur Sang version of some reason. It's got a 1937/8 2300 6C AR Pescara engine with a blower added by Auto Restorations, Jim Stokes 8C gearbox, period 8C diff, correct 8C Monza reproduction spring steel chassis from Designcast, front end live axle similar. Bosch period electricals and Jaeger period instruments. A bunch of small parts are also period, took ages to find them all.

Now here is the question. It's undeniably a replica but a pretty good one at that with all AR parts or copy parts. I need to add chassis numbers, an engine number (all but two digits are missing) and a description that's honest. I'd appreciate any suggestions from our educated audience?

Photo's of the build can be found on http://www.pinterest.com/luxsimplified/vintage-racing-alfa-romeo-monza-recreation/

Look forward to your or any feedback.

·
Registered
1,826 Posts
ID for an 8C Monza based on a 6C2300 engine

You have already gone a good way towards describing your project honestly. It all looks good and it is nice to see someone pursuing a dream with passionate tenacity.

My suggestion would be that the original engine number be used as the identity for both the engine and the chassis, particularly if it is a 6C2300B engine. Perhaps with the prefix "8C" as window dressing for the casually uninformed and to remove potential confusions for those who know something about 8C cars? This would make for a "matching numbers" car that would not be confused numerically with an Alfa Romeo built 8C. And, because of the "8C" configuration, the car would also not be easily confused with an original 6C2300 despite the numbering following the "8C" prefix.