Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings gentleman,

I was wondering if I might obtain your opinions as regards the Nardi steering wheels currently made, specifically this one Replica - 5802.42.3000

I am considering purchasing one for my 1959 750B Sprint. Does anybody have any experience with the modern production versions of the classic Nardi wheel? The originals are almost impossible to find and ruthlessly expensive.

Also if I may ask as a 750B is my car technically a series 1 or series 2 car? The 750 status would say Series 1, but I'm not sure how it is defined as a transition car.

Kindest regards,
Hans

·
Administrator
3,810 Posts
Hello Hans

I have no experience with the Nardi steering wheels, however noted Giulietta expert, restorer extraordinaire and all round nice guy, Bill Gillham, once mentioned that the new ones were not the same shape / dish as the old ones and he did not like them, preferring the Moto Lita wheels which have kept the same shape since the '50's.

Your '59 Sprint is a Series II, the change happened in mid '58 from chassis 1493*06612 onwards - it has to do with the new 101 shape using the pressed steel panels.

For general clarity we call the Sprints from mid '58 to end '60, the Series II Interim or Transition cars. Alfa kept the 750 designation almost right to the end of '60.

Ciao
Greig
'57 750B's
'58 750E
'60 750B Interim car
'61 10102

Spiders
Ti
Others

·
Registered
1,974 Posts
Hello Hans

I have no experience with the Nardi steering wheels, however noted Giulietta expert, restorer extraordinaire and all round nice guy, Bill Gillham, once mentioned that the new ones were not the same shape / dish as the old ones and he did not like them, preferring the Moto Lita wheels which have kept the same shape since the '50's.

Greig
'57 750B's
'58 750E
'60 750B Interim car
'61 10102

Spiders
Ti
Others