Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first attempt at posting my project on the BB so please forgive my clumsy efforts...... :eek:
I will start with the original car and show the various stages we went through....

The car was a 2nd owner car which had lived all it's life in Johannesburg (5500ft elevation) so almost no rust. The interior was nice and it ran fairly well. I decided to build a "ultimate GTV" within the constraints of my budget.
So here are my efforts.... I will update from time to time but unfortunately I never kept a full photo record of the work... So here we go....!;)

Attachments

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
The next step was to take off as much paint as possible to see exactly what was below that yellow exterior and also removing all the chrome trim and other misc bits....

Then it was of to the mechanical shop to strip out all the hardware and begin the long task of re-building:eek:

Attachments

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
As we tore the car down it became apparent that it would need some replacement body parts and so the long and expensive process of gathering parts began, I had the body completely taken back to bare metal.

Attachments

·
Registered
2 Posts
Great project you got going there. Once I'm finished with my studies end of this year I'm looking to buy something similiar to restore, those Alfa's are simply the best looking machines on earth.

Will keep an eye out for this car when I'm in CPT again.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thank You Divan and as I see it is your first post on the ALFA BB forum...WELCOME.:)
The car is a lot further advanced now than the pics show but I will add new stuff periodically.