Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone know the story on car 45 in this picture? Picture is from the SS vs. SZ book, 1961 Grand Prix of Monza. Car 39 is Elio Zagato. Number 45 looks to be a low nose SS with modified lights. I have a 1962 SS with the same lights including covers, but standard nose. The legend passed along with my car is that is was modified by Conrero, but I have never come across any evidence to prove or disprove. I can provide more info on my car, but would love to know more about car 45. Thanks.

Brian Cook

Attachments

·
Registered
65 Posts
Brian,

First off, welcome to the BB. I'm surprised that with the wealth of information that this group has at their fingertips, that no one has been able to help you. I'm no expert myself. A suggestion - member "dretceterini" seems to know the history of Alfa extremely well. You may want to private message him and ask him his opinion.

Are you a member of the Chicago chapter? If you're interested, we have a very active group and would welcome your participation. Check out www.caroc.com. We are hosting the national convention next year and it should be a great event. I also have an SS, 1961, in fair driver condition, and hope to have it ready for the Spring. There are a couple others in the Chicago area from what I've been told, but they don't seem to come out too often.

Marco

·
Registered
131 Posts
A car with similar looks as no 45 was for sale in the German Magazine Motor-Klassik about 20 years ago. That car was located in Southern Denmark (Jutland) if I remember it right there was some reference to Conrero in the add but I´m not sure.
Could it be your car ?
RGDS
Björn in Sweden

·
Registered
271 Posts
A car with similar looks as no 45 was for sale in the German Magazine Motor-Klassik about 20 years ago. That car was located in Southern Denmark (Jutland) if I remember it right there was some reference to Conrero in the add but I´m not sure.