Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 1974 GTV 2000 was converted from SPICA by a PO. The current Weber setup is: 40DCOE 32 rear and 40DCOE 151 front. Other info: it has a euro manifold and "performance cams" (Centerline, I think).

These carbs are very different specs based on info found online (assuming nobody has messed with the various jets, etc). Even though I'm new to Webers it is clear this is not a good combo. It does not run well.

My question is which version (32 or 151) to find and make a matching set. Not sure if one is better than the other.

·
Super Moderator
11,693 Posts
These carbs are very different specs based on info found online (assuming nobody has messed with the various jets, etc).
I'd say you're making a big assumption to think that these carburetors' jetting hasn't been changed over the past 40+- years. Especially given the other modifications made by your cars' PO. Noting the sizes of both carburetors' jets, venturis, air correctors, etc. is the first thing you should do.

My question is which version (32 or 151) to find and make a matching set. Not sure if one is better than the other.
Neither is inherently "better". But sure, you want two carbs jetted the same and with the same progression hole patterns.

Reactions: slowcreek

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'd say you're making a big assumption to think that these carburetors' jetting hasn't been changed over the past 40+- years. Especially given the other modifications made by your cars' PO. Noting the sizes of both carburetors' jets, venturis, air correctors, etc. is the first thing you should do.
Agree. This car has passed through many hands. Will have to take them appart to be certain.

The 151 venturi is 30mm and the 32 is 32mm. I thought the venturis were not modifiable (i.e. part of the body itself).