Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Okay, its that time of year, time to do my wheel bearings. I read a few thread and heard its kinda a pain, but thats to be expected right? Its an Alfa after all. Yesterday I crawled it into my new shop for the first time, jacked it up, pulled the wheels, and started on the axle nuts. They came off pretty painlessly with a two foot breaker bar. Tomorrow im gonna get started on the CV axle bolts which look like they are gonna be more of a pain than the axle nuts, any suggestions? As for the lock rings, I will make a tool in a couple days when i have a chance. Are there any other things Im forgetting? Its my first time doing this so being very cautious with every step. While I have the car in the shop, I will also be doing the transaxle oil, the rear engine mount, and the steering rack boots, any suggestions on those?

Cheers,

Miguel

Attachments

·
Registered
3,362 Posts
Yeah the bearings can be tough to get out, I ended up cobbling together a few bits and pieces that approximate the factory tools for it. I got the hubs off with a carefully applied dead blow hammer. I put the bearings in the freezer for an hour before I put them in and it made that part a piece of cake.

Kevin

·
Premium Member
14,038 Posts
Yeah the bearings can be tough to get out
That is true even with the factory tool. Mine eventually came out after soaking them in penetrating oil for two nights in a row.

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ok, i probably end up makin a tool for that too. Is there any way to make the cv axles easier to disconnect or is a 'deal with it ' kind of job? Ive got plenty of penetrating oil lying around so no problem there :thumbup: .

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Oh so i can disconect them from the center.... i thought i hade to take them off of the hubs...

·
Registered
3,362 Posts