Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4,034 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a new clutch master in hand from Alfissimo. I want to replace my remote reservoir hose (which is not available from Alfa) on the brake and the clutch masters. I replaced the brake master not too long ago and the hoses are leaking slowly. What are you folks using instead of Alfa part #60777345 which is the supply hose for both the brake master and the clutch master? Can I use fuel hose of SAE 30R9 spec? Suggestions on I.D. and local or online sources?
Charles

·
Registered
4,034 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
Hose nipple on the clutch master looks like 5/16" (or 8mm) hose is needed. Any ideas on the length of hose I need to buy to replace both?
Charles

·
Registered
1,233 Posts
Yes, I have replaced those supply hoses with fuel hose. I did this a while back on a couple cars and they appear to be working fine. I believe I used the high pressure FI fuel hose that I have around but regular fuel rated hose should work fine. 5/16" (7.9mm) should be a good size to use. The smaller 7.2-7.5mm fuel hose might be too difficult to connect to the plastic/nylon nipples especially when working at tight spaces (like under the dash). I suggest buy some extra length like a few feet of hose. It is easier to work with longer length hose when fishing it through the firewall! Tape the end that you're pushing through to keep junks out.

·
Registered
4,034 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Thanks Bob. I wondered how well FI hose would work over time.
I did FINALLY track down a source for the no pressure braided reservoir hose! Porsche Clutch Hose - Braided Cloth
Used on Porsche 911 clutch master and 944/968, $3.00 per foot. Image is from Paragon, they say it is cloth cover silicon hose. Doesn't say what size I.D.? I would guess it's 8mm but don't know but I think they are selling a very good hose here.
Charles

Attachments

·
Registered
4,034 Posts