Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought an 86 Spider Volace. The car runs great but whom-ever had the car in the past cut the wires below the dash and now the wipers and light controls on the steering column dont work. They rewired the lights to a pull out switch mounted to the fuse box cover. The blinkers do work but we dont know where they are wired to. Also the courtesy light, under hood light, glove box light, and fuse box light dont work unless you ground them differently. Is there one ground somewhere in the car that is used for all of these lights? Maybe its loose? I am not a mechanic or an electrition so if anything I say is way off please let me know. Im just learning about all this stuff and dont want to take my car to a mechanic.
I've attached pix of the cut wires under the steering wheel and the wires going into the "new"light switch.
If anyone has any advice please be very detailed. Thanks.

Attachments

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
I forgot to ad that the power mirrors dont work either. The windows do work but they are slow and squeaky, I can live with that for now. Also the courtesy light does not work when the door is opened but does work when it is in the side on position.

·
1966-2013
13,741 Posts
You're gonna be wanting to obtain a wiring schematic from boardmember papajam if at all possible.

Not only are they the most excellent ones you can get from any source and suitable for framing, they are also easy to read and the color coding is right on them as opposed to flipping to a color key or something goofy.

As you have the bullet fuse system in there, you'll initially want to get all new fuses regardless of the apparent condition of the current ones (they have this evil trick they play of looking good but not actually working) and then perhaps down the road swap in a blade style box from an 87~89 model (straight up wire swapping, no drama)