Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all - I'm new to Alfa's and have an '87 Spider Graduate; I'm replacing my door panels and have rotten rubber grommets at door and window handles inside the panel. I have looked everywhere and can't seem to find replacements. Any ideas would be much appreciated. I posted a pic of the grommet. Thanks.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,101 Posts
Hi Tina
For what its worth I would be more concerned about fitting a plastic film between the door and your new cards. Water runs through the door so the plastic will insulate the door card. Make sure the drain holes at the bottom of the door are clean and fish oil inside the door while you are at it.

·
Registered
9,401 Posts
I am not so sure there is even supposed to be a rubber grommet there?

(if I am right, saves you searching at least;))

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
My first Alfa - so not sure - but both sides had this thing on the inner panel around the window crank...one side looked like the one in the photo and the other side fell to pieces when I took the panel apart. Just making sure everything goes back together the way it should! :)

·
Registered
9,401 Posts
My first Alfa - so not sure - but both sides had this thing on the inner panel around the window crank...one side looked like the one in the photo and the other side fell to pieces when I took the panel apart. Just making sure everything goes back together the way it should! :)
never seen that, can't even see how one fits in there
got a photo of the area with that grommet removed?
plus one showing whole door

·
Registered
9,401 Posts
Thank you.
I'm convinced there was never a rubber there....its put there by the PO, for whatever reason.

·
Registered
128 Posts
I have them in my 74. I think the purpose is to keep the chrome circle slightly lifted off the panel and/or to keep it from spinning while turning the window crank

·
Registered
5 Posts