Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m currently restoring a 1971 Gtv that I bought from a seller in Toronto. I’m trying to figure out the history of my car. From what I can tell the 71 gtv sold in the US had the later model wide tail lights and large rectangular side markers. My car seems to have the body style of a 69 gtv with small circular side markers and small tail lights. The interior also came with the 69 style twin pod dash, however the seats look more similar to the 72-76 car rather than the flying buttresses seats. I’m a little confused as to where my car fits in to the timeline if anyone can enlighten me on this I would really appreciate it. Attached below are some photos of the car prior to restoring followed by the car in its current state. Btw I’m new to the vintage Alfa game so please forgive my ignorance on the subject.

Attachments

·
Administrator
14,471 Posts

Pete

·
Premium Member
1,539 Posts
Others will chime in with greater knowledge than I, I am sure... but 2-litre cars started in 72, and they got the wide tail lights. Prior to that they were 1750s. Second-series 1750s didn’t get the flying buttresses seats. What motor do you think you have? If you’re not sure, you can tell by looking at the symbols on the front of the motor. Post a pic and you’ll get an answer.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Others will chime in with greater knowledge than I, I am sure... but 2-litre cars started in 72, and they got the wide tail lights. Prior to that they were 1750s. Second-series 1750s didn’t get the flying buttresses seats. What motor do you think you have? If you’re not sure, you can tell by looking at the symbols on the front of the motor. Post a pic and you’ll get an answer.