Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to Alfas, and this is my first big project!
I've recently acquired a complete motor and wiring harness from a '91 164. I intend to swap this for the 2.5 in my '87 Milano.I want to keep the Motronic system;but,the distributor won't fit.My question is,how do I wire the original distributor to work with Motronic? I'm not to well versed with fuel inj.,so please keep it simple.:D

·
Registered
2,984 Posts
pop the cover where the distributor would be on the Milano on the 164 motor and see if the gear has a slot. if it does then you have the slow oil pump and all you need to do is swap out the oil pump when you swap the oil pan.

if the gear has no slot then the oil pump runs faster and you can not put a distributor there. but you should also have oil jets to cool the pistons in that case.
as Alfa ran the pumps faster to give more flow to make up for the oil jets. So all blocks after x year had the faster pump and oil jets.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I popped the cover where the distributor would go,and there isn't the notched coupler. Will the oil pump,or just the shaft,from a standard 2.5/3.0 work?

·
Registered
2,984 Posts
it will but if the gear does not have the slot. it has a faster ratio then 1:2 so you can not use a distributor. you could take the set out of the old head both gears have to be a set. and the head have to be removed. but then you would run low oil psi. The pumps have to be moved ether way as the 164 does not fit the 75 oil pan. There is a quite a few that run the slower pump with say a 'S' motor that has the oil jets. Running thinker oil help make up for it. And using the faster pump take a bit of work too if you go edist. if you look at my VEMS install you will see where I bought 2 new pumps. A 164 and a 75.