Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy,

I'm freshening up a pair of DHLA40F I got of an 80's Euro Guiletta for installation on my US 2l '74 Spider.
(this is street car which is getting a set of 10548 camshafts with 10.1 motronic pistons)

Looking at the jetting I have I'm wondering what if anything I should change outright:

Choke/ starter jet: 70
Main Jet: 132
emulsion tube: 7772.8
air corrector: 210
idle jet: 55
pump jet: 33

The oft-referenced ebay website of Alfa1750 lists:
(upto 135 BHP) 32; 150; 7772.11; 200; 60; 33-40; 150

With the exception of the choke which seems way out there would you recommend changing anything else? btw, why would a choke be so high?

Thanks!

·
Registered
496 Posts
Seb I'm no expert but I think you've got the wrong number on the main venturi/choke there on your set. The biggest one I know of to fit in a 40 is like a 38 and the largest recommended is a 34 or 36. 70 is just way too high. Keep in mind that this number is the number of milimeters of the opening of the venturi.

I think a performance 2L motor is usually recommended to use a 34 venturi with appropriate changes in emulsion tube and main jet. Standard 2L motors use the 32 so I bet if your motor is in standard tune that you're all set.

Karl

·
Registered
64 Posts
According to the Haynes Alfetta workshop manual, the jetting for the Dellorto DHLA40F as standard was:
Venturi 32 mm (Sometimes also called the choke, this is actually the main venturi which fits inside the barrel of the carburettor. They are ideally around three quarters the size of the carby barrel.)
Main jet 1.45 (stamped on actual jet as 145)
Main emulsion tube 7772.08
Main air corrector 2.10 (stamped as 210)
Idle jet 0.52 to 0.55 (depending on date of production)
Idle air corrector 2.20 (these are usually stamped with a special Dellorto part number, such as ‘.1’ for a 7850.1, so I don’t know how that correlates with the 2.20 that Haynes shows)