Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings list members,
I am a new member and this is my first post. I am new to Alfa’s and I am currently in the market for 1969-1974 GTV.
I have a question about parts compatibility between the 105 series GTV and the Spider cars, specifically the 1980’s Spider models (Series 3). I am wondering if a Spider would be a good donor for modern/improved parts for the GTV.

• Can the Bosch EFI motors be retrofitted?
  • How about the suspension or driveline components?
  • How about the steering rack? I would assume a late ‘80’s car would had rack-n-pinion
  • Are the wheels the same bolt patterns?
Thanks in advance!
Mike

·
Premium Member
22,160 Posts
* Bosch engine can be fitted but it requires some knowledge of hooking up the computer, sensors and where to put the ECU, AFM, etc. Some fuel system changes required. Folks have done it, but it's not a weekend job for the inexperienced.
* Suspension, brakes, trans, diff all identical other than springs, which will be a different length and rate, though they'll fit. Driveshaft and e-brake cable are different lengths.
* No rack, they have steering box. It'll fit and work unless the Spider has PS. Steering column length and details may different if it's a very late SPider.
* Yes, wheels are same.
Andrew

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Andrew, thanks for the great responses, I appreciate the info. It's a nice piece of info to have in my back pocket.

Mike

·
Premium Member
22,160 Posts
Not meant as an insult, but if you're asking these kinds of questions I'm guessing you may not be a candidate to do this kind of work yourself? Unless you're experienced on other marques and just new to Alfas...
Andrew

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Andrew, thanks for your concern. I'm sure there is a ton of stuff specific to Alfa's that I don't know. I didnt want to sounds assuming in my post.