Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Beer is promised to whoever can come up with a good and plausible solution to my problem!

I am studying second year Industrial Design at university. The project I am working on is designing a set of kitchen scales that a) would be sold in a low volume boutique store, and b) utilises two main materials, and uses these materials in a particularly innovative way. The materials I have chosen are billet alumiminum and acrylic, and I will be using the light conducting properties of the acrylic in a kind of funky way. In a nutshel I will use the billet aluminium to create a mechanism (that works in theory). This mechanism will angle a mirror according to the weight, which then changes the angle of reflection of a laser beam - the laser dot on an opposing surface will then show the weight. All very sexy if it works in practise, but thats another problem for another day!

My problem today is this. The table that holds the weight is mounted to a swingarm. As a force is applied, the swingarm pivots. Only problem is that the weight table is firmly fixed to the swingarm, meaning whatever you place on the table will fall off as the swingarm pivots. The simple solution would be to put some kind of wall so it doesnt fall of, but that doesnt work very well for liquids contained in a vessel, then it gets messy! So obviously my table will need to be located in more than one position (or weighted somehow), and may even need sliders and runners to ensure it stays vertical. But how do I actually do this? Does anyone have any other ideas as a way of keeping the table horizontal? And dont hold back on those zany ideas, sometimes they can be turned into something that works! Perpetual motion is too far, but you get the point!