Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 91 Posts

·
Administrator
14,297 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I work in IT but I'm a software developer or configuration person. I absolutely hate hardware issues and have no interest in the physical thing that is the computer, driver updates, etc.

So I'm having trouble with the piece of metal, plastic and glass that once was a nice car to drive.

I've bought an interface cable called VAG KKL + FIATECUSCAN. The second part gives me hope as it, hopefully intentionally, mentions FIAT.

Unfortunately my home notebook is running Windows 8.1 and I cannot get this cable and this notebook to play nicely together. It just thinks it is a serial adapter, but every piece of software I've found that might work needs a COM port number, or doesn't detect it if I ask it to search for the interface. I've found sites that supposedly should solve this issue, but nope my notebook is playing hard ball, and no solution yet.

So please, and I'm sorry for the tone of this post but from the return trip from Kaikoura, this car has turned into a drama AND of course work has piled up so I've had to work my arse off upon return, and now shattered ... and no running car at all!

So I'm prepared to spend up to $200 (already wasted $300 on a spare new battery to get the thing home), what, in terms that a child would understand, do I need to purchase to get my notebook and car to talk to each other so we have a small chance of fixing her so she returns to being the reliable and fun car to drive again

Many thanks. I will try and pluck up enough like of the car to wash her now
Pete

·
Registered
995 Posts
Pete, sorry I can't help with the IT stuff but just a couple of points to consider.
Has the car died all together now? It wont even start with a fresh charge on the new battery?