Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys thanks in advance for reading this and providing any thoughts.

I am new to the Alfa BB forums. I am fixing up my uncles 1978 Alfa Romeo Spider Volce. It was his pet project and he died a few years ago, and he loved nothing more than his Spider. The car came to me about a month ago, and as a memorial to my Uncle Jim I wanted to get it running again. It had not run for 6 months when I got it. I replaced the battery, a fuse that controlled the fuel pump, the fuel pump, the fuel line to to fuel pump and changed the oil/oil filter. It was running beautifully when I decided to replace the fuel filter. I drove the car out of the garage and I disconnected everything (the battery and what I am guessing is the air pump because it is attached to a filter) according to the cars original manual and found that the housing to the fuel filter had been glued along it's seal. The glue came off in my hand while I was trying to figure out how to get the housing to drop down. I decided to get a new housing before replacing the filter so I put everything back double checking to make sure that I followed the steps as they appeared in the manual in reveres. But when I went to start up the Spider it would not turn on or even turn over. I had the battery checked and it is still good so I am assuming that I have an electrical problem. I assume that I made a mistake when I replaced everything but even after removing and reassembling I cant figure out what it is that I did. I double checked that the battery is facetted tightly, to the positive and negative. Which it is.

I am at a lose as to what I have done and I don't know enough about cars to deduce what the problem is.

Thanks,
Collen

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes they do turn on and the light inside the cab that says generat and the oil pressure light. I can hear a slight wining noise.

·
Premium Member
16,232 Posts