Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I am wondering how to install new spark plugs in my 87' Alfa Spider... What different types of tools will I need to get the old ones out of their current position (sorry I am new to engine fixing).

Cheers.

·
Registered
969 Posts
Spark plug socket, ratchet. remove 1 at time by unplugging the spark plug wire and using the ratchet/socket to 'unscrew' the spark plug. Install new one and reattach the wire. Pretty easy

·
Premium Member
1,733 Posts
Spark plug socket, ratchet. remove 1 at time by unplugging the spark plug wire and using the ratchet/socket to 'unscrew' the spark plug. Install new one and reattach the wire. Pretty easy
On reinstallation, use a torque wrench and don't overtorque the spark plugs. Proper torque is 18.4 to 25 ft-lb. (I just go for the middle and torque to 22 ft-lb).

·
Premium Member
4,759 Posts
Best to do this on a cold motor and whatever you do, do Not over tighten the spark plugs. The head is soft alloy compared to the threaded portion of the spark plug(s) and stripping the threads in the head will not be pleasant. Start the new plugs with your fingers as to help ensure not to strip or cross thread. If you have access to an air gun/compressor, after removing the wire/cable/boot and before removing the old plug, blow the area around the plug out as well as you can. This keeps any small bits from falling down the opening. Find the gap spec for the plug(s) and get that set as well. Youtube is a good resource for this as well. It's very easy to do and also very easy to mess up. ciao jc

·
Premium Member
867 Posts