Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
163 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello guys im new at this so bare with me.i have a 74 gtv wich im trying to install a bosch distrib. i also have the bosch blue coil can anybody help me with step by step thanks very much. Ben ALFA FOREVER

·
Administrator
16,362 Posts
I don't know the details of your model or the Bosch distributor to give you exact step-by-step instructions. but here goes anyway.

If the distributor has points, set the point gap, position the engine so the #1 piston is at TDC on compression (keeping in mind the piston goes to TDC twice during a complete 4 cycle sequence). Note the position of the slot down inside where the drive end of the distributor fits. The end of the distributor shaft has a matching piece that fits into that slot. The slot is slightly off-center so the drive should only fit one way. Insert the distributor so the key fits into the slot. You may need to wiggle the rotor shaft around a bit until it fits properly. The base of the distributor should now be all the way into the engine block. If it is not the key is not fully seated into the slot.

Now you can statically time the distributor. Usually there is a specification for X number of degrees before TDC. Carefully turn the engine so the crank is at that position. Now turn the distributor body until the points are just beginning to open (which is where it would trigger the coil to discharge and produce the spark). You can use a 12V test light or an ohm meter to see exactly when the points begin to open. Once you have the distributor in the right position, tighten the clamping bolt.

Now make note where the rotor is aimed. That section inside the distributor cap is for the #1 spark plug wire. The remaining wires are attached in the correct firing order. 4 cylinder engines are usually 1-3-4-2. The Alfa rotor turns clockwise (when viewed from above) so install the rest of the wire following that firing order.