Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I'm new to the alfa ownership and have previously posted a number of questions. On my list of questions are How long, distance or time, do the 'Giunti Boschi' (i.e. driveline flex joint a.k.a donut) last and the engine mounts.

I plan on replacing these items in the next few weeks and was wondering how long they last under normal driving conditions, i.e. normal street use.

Thanks,
Bob

·
Registered
6,028 Posts
Both should be good for 50,000+ miles if you're a mechanically sympathetic driver. However, these cars are not used every day and so you have to factor in other elements that would cause rubber to degrade, such as time itself. A car that racks up 50K miles in three years will have rubber bushes that are in better condition than another car which amasses the same mileage in thirty years. Sagging motor mounts are easy to diagnose and will take an hour or so to replace. Fatigued donuts are less easy to spot, you just need to inspect them now and then.

In short, fit good quality parts. Mildly uprated mounts are available from e.g. Alfaholics and these might be a good investment; I have a set on my car and they're excellent, no noise/vibration issues. Paul Spruell in the US sells a high quality 'donut' kit using parts sourced from BMW or Mercedes (I forget which), that might be a better buy than the original style made by Pirelli, as the 'new' donut is fiber-reinforced. The key to ensuring long life for your donuts is perfect propshaft alignment, so that they are not subjected to unnatural twisting and consequent fatigue. There are threads on the BB which will help you ensure that everything is straight and true. Good luck!

·
Registered
1,961 Posts
You should consider the replacement of the transmission support bushing when you do the "giunta Boschi". It will help to restore the driveshaft alignment Alex speaks to.