Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,449 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've always wanted a Giulia sedan and I'll soon have space for one, so I've been doing a little shopping around here and there. I've seen this car on eBay for what seems like quite some time and I'm curious why it hasn't sold. I'm not quite in the market yet, just doing research now.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1970-ALFA-ROMEO-GIULIA-SUPER-1-6-BISCIONE-VINTAGE-SEDAN_W0QQitemZ280132207446QQihZ018QQcategoryZ5356QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Any thoughts? Don't want to step on any toes here in case the owner is in this forum.

·
Registered
7,166 Posts
:confused:maybe too high a starting bid?

·
Registered
3,909 Posts
it's just not an original car....It should not have the Nuova front, for starters....and what about the Berlina tail lights? I am no Giulia expert, but makes you wonder what else is lurking....not good with a $7500 starting bid

·
Premium Member
21,347 Posts
The car is kind of scary, with acknowledge paint issues, a Nuova grille and bumpers on a pre-Nuova car, and Berlina taillights. The seller is also not real good at explanations or communication. A friend was very interested to go look at the car and didn't get to first base with the seller. Maybe somewhat clueless?

It might be an OK car, but it's not one I'd buy without seeing it in the flesh, except at a killer bargain price, which $7,500 is not. This is its third of fourth time on ebay, right? with basically no changes to the posting, which is not a good way to encourage the bidding or trust process.

Andrew

·
Super Moderator
10,163 Posts
That Biscone on ebay

The fact that the front grille and bumpers have been replaced IS a red flag. You probably wouldn't do this just for the sake of customizing the car - a more logical explanation would be that the original parts were destroyed in an accident.