Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy all, I'm a new guy and i dont' actually own an alfa, but please don't run away just yet! The guy up the street does own an alfa (3 of them) and he's getting older and isn't working on them anymore.

I've had my eye on one, i think its a Guilia sprint, but i'm not sure of the year. it used to run, i remember seeing him drive it when i was younger.

i've had this fantasy of buying it from him, and semi restoring it to drivable condition, however it does have a few rust issues (really? never!) i snapped a few pictures of the car, and the rust. some things dont' look so bad, some look very bad.

I'm not a bodywork expert and i've never restored a car before but i've helped friends here and there. Can you tell anything from these pictures or should i go get more?

·
Registered
4,875 Posts
That one's going to be a challenge. Big money, and many years work. Where's the glass?
It's going to be way cheaper to find a better one with which to start a project. Cheaper still to buy it already done.

·
Registered
2,753 Posts
Welcome! Its a 66 or 67 which is a desirable model but I would recommend against buying it. It looks like a massive project with some structural rust issues. The sills (below the doors) are structural on these cars. A tough car to have as a first project. It would cost you alot to get this back on the road even if you were a panel guy. I am sure there are better project bases around at good prices but I'll leave that to the US guys to comment. You do have good taste though! So don't let that seed of desiring Alfa ownership die, spend a bit of time on this site and see what people are doing and what project cars pop up now and again.

·
Registered
1,742 Posts
It will depend on how much he wants to sell it for! If he gives it to you even better.