Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Glad I found this site! I recently rebuilt the engine and trans in my '79 Spider. All back together now (not quite ready to start, and nervous to do so after below), but I tried to bleed the clutch and *think* I'm having problems. I've got all the air out of the system, but the pedal is so soft, you can reach into the engine compartment and easily push in the lever with your fingers. I replaced the master and slave cylinders and hoses, but it does the same thing. I'm using Dot 3 fluid. No leaks, No air. The slave cylinder moves the clutch fork only about 3mm - the book says it should move 11-12mm. I'm really frustrated, having gone through 2 masters and 2 slaves with no luck. Is it only supposed to move this far? Any ideas? I'm not a novice at this stuff, and I don't *think* I'm missing the obvious. What gives? thanks!

·
Registered
9,977 Posts
1. Are you SURE you have all the air out of the system? Did you bleed the slave cylinder with the nipple on top?

2. When you push the clutch pedal in by hand can you see the clutch master cylinder piston being pushed in?

2. Is the clutch pedal pin broken in the pedal pivots? see the following link. Look for the two entries under "clutch"

http://www.geocities.com/motorcity/downs/3837/features.html

·
Registered
208 Posts
I also have a 79 spider. I replaced the slave cylinder and line a few years back. From what I remember it went pretty trouble free. The slave cylinder does move the clutch arm about a 10 mm to 15 mm. and it is very heavy under foot. It would be very hard to push in by hand. I'm no pro but it sounds like air in the lines or the pedal itself. Have you tried cracking the nipple and letting the line slowly drip over night. This is what I had to do once to get air out of my brake lines. It works good luck.

·
Registered
1,171 Posts