Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

I decided to order head light for my Giulietta Spider Veloce 1961/62 and found out so much variables.

I have some questions:

1. My car is USA car with 170mm head lights. I studied ricambi catalogue and it is also quite NOT CLEAR. Is it OK to use Carello optics with one circuit only ???
2. Does have this optic park light or not ???
3. Front sign lights had for my car 171903 function of park light ??? My car is one of the latest and in Giulia electrical wiring scheme I see two circuits for front sign lights - so logically the head lamps should be just one circuit. And also head lamps have just one circuit in wiring diagram. So no parking light. It was the same for late Spider Giuliettas ??? In Service manual of Giuliettas Spiders seems to be like that.
4. I heard something about GE lamps for USA car. So there was no Carello delivered from factory ???
5. I have Carello catalogue and it does not match with Ricambi cataloge (983-11/1964) at all. I speak about Carello order numbers for Giulietta spider USA version. The ctalogue is in [email protected] web files.

So finaly I will order from OKP the head lamps. They have logo Carello, they do not have parking light. They have correct diameter.
There is just one with side light and one not. What is it side light - is it parking light (with separate circuit) or info that it shine more on the right side to better see pedestrians ???

What is correct ???

Thank you for clarification.

Mirek

·
Super Moderator
11,555 Posts
The USA cars usually had only sealed beam headlights, GE being most common on Spiders. These had only high and low beam function.
By altering your wiring loom, you might be able to use the Euro system, or the German system with side marker parking lights. I once owned a 300SEL 6.3, USA car fro '68 that had the conversion switch for all the non sealed beam multi-bulb trickery available in Germany when it was built.