Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks,

Noob here, needing some advice on how best to modify GTV6 bumpers to make them closer to the body. Understand from searching on the forum that hole(s) needs to be drilled in the shocks. The question is: where is best place to drill the hole(s)?

Attached below is a picture of one of the shocks next to a ruler for reference. For those of you have done this, any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Cheers,

Attachments

·
Registered
3,880 Posts
The best place is where it says "906" in this photo.
Have a rag grouped loosely around the drill site, DEFINITELY wear safety goggles.
After it squirts [or not], push the shock all the way in, catching the oil as you go.

They will travel out on their own sometimes if you don't do a bolt or tack weld.
Do this AFTER lining Everything up.

·
Registered
893 Posts
Expect to get only about 1 inch of difference between a collapsed shock and and extended one. This is what I have found in removing both versions from GTV6s. My compressed ones would have been from probably a mild impact. By drilling and compressing in a vise, you may get a bit more? Interested to know if that's true, in case it comes up in the future.

A 'Plan B' could be this--- some folks have compressed shocks and would prefer the fully extended units. Those folks may have an interest in trading theirs for yours?

Peter

·
Premium Member
2,598 Posts
Just unscrew them on a big vise and they POP!! Nothing BIG,clean them out and you can compress them to your desired length. Used them on me Spider to mount the rear bumper. Worked great
and yes Peter is correct 1" to 1 1/2"

·
Premium Member
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Update for those who are visual like me...

So I followed @HeavyMetalAlfa advice today and drilled a hole on the "906" in the previous photo.