Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The turn signals on my 1974 GTV work properly but at high speed. Any suggestions other than replacing the "clicker" unit down by the pedals? Any help is appreciated.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Electrical

Hi Bruno,

I'm no expert or auto electrician but i have a bit of an idea about the electrics on these cars.
You say the turn signals work properly at high speeds. So what happens if you use the turn signals at idle ? Do they work at all or just slower ?
Several years ago i replaced the electronic flasher unit on my car (83 Alfetta GTV 2.0), and once i got over the initial cost i never looked back. The indicators now work soo much better/quicker than the stock flasher unit.
If you decide to buy a new one just make sure it has the correct number of pins etc so you don't need to re-wire the indicators etc.

Hope this helps.

Rob.

·
Registered
1,343 Posts
The turn signals on my 1974 GTV work properly but at high speed. Any suggestions other than replacing the "clicker" unit down by the pedals? Any help is appreciated.
Do mean they blink at high speed or they only work when the car is travelling at speed? Or something else?

·
Super Moderator
10,367 Posts
Do mean they blink at high speed or they only work when the car is travelling at speed?
Yea, I was puzzled by Bruno's problem statement too. But I am confident he means that they blink too fast (a common problem) - not that they only work above 85 mph (which would be pretty amazing).