Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
281 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am fairly new to GTV's and while doing some interior work on my car, I identified that the light bulbs going to my small DEF and WIPE indicators in my center console work just fine but I have never seen them on. I always assumed they were burned out or something but the lights work fine. When I use the toggles they do NOT light up whether I have the headlights on or not.
My question is..... should they be lit when the headlights are on and or should they light up when in use?
I have a wiring diagram but am dumb as a bag of rocks when it comes to electrical stuff.
In a perfect world I would love to have them lit whenever the headlights are in use. Any interior lighting would be helpful in these old cars at night.
A Preemptive thanks to all that chime in....

Michael

·
Registered
281 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks Ken.
I suspected that was the case but when you live in an area that has no 'Active' GTV guys around to ask. It just never occurred to me until I saw them light up as I tested things while reupholstering the center console.
I will take a look and with papajam's wiring diagram I should be able to figure it out.

·
Administrator
12,565 Posts
An Alfa where the interior lights work .... hahaha, flippin hilarious :grin2::grin2:

Good luck and if you get them working your car might be the first :wink2:
Pete

·
Registered
1,407 Posts
Thanks Ken.
I suspected that was the case but when you live in an area that has no 'Active' GTV guys around to ask. It just never occurred to me until I saw them light up as I tested things while reupholstering the center console.
I will take a look and with papajam's wiring diagram I should be able to figure it out.
If the other instrument lights work, and the bulbs in the center console are good, check for a good ground wire to the center console. Also check the hooded light to the heater control... Should be on the same circuit...

·