Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How do ? I'm new to Alfa Romeo. I've jumped in with both feet A Lotus 23 I bought has a 1300 GTA engine. It really is a beautiful engine. I'm told that distributor caps are all but unobtainable so I am looking for a source of these and everything 1300 GTA. Thanks a bunch. brad moore.

·
Registered
1,817 Posts
Hi WBMOORE. There are a few places you can get the caps and other bits. I'll email you the sites when I get home

·
Registered
5,969 Posts
Sell the GTA engine and buy a Coventry Climax, Lotus-Ford or Ford BDA engine, IMHO. The BD-series engines are light years ahead of that Alfa twin cam. More appropriate to that 23, too.

Alex.

·
Super Moderator
11,385 Posts
GTA caps and rotors.

Alex is right, but he did not mention you should donate the GTA engine to me;)!
The caps are available from Christian Ondrak (Ok Parts). They are a high quality replica, and he has rotors as well. I have also learned how to modify the more common Montrial rotor, to use that cap and rotor system. I may have a modified assembly in my shop if you are interested. Christinans assembly is superior in materials to the original units. My modified assembly also is of better material. I AVOID making any more as the machine work on the aluminum, rotor drive is a complex machining job. However once you own this part, you can use Montrial components forever. I built these in the period before the reproductions were available.
Best,:D Gordon Raymond

·
Registered
354 Posts
Lotus

Brad-
Got any pics of the car (and engine) you can post.
Would love to see some pics of the 23

-JT

·
Premium Member
21,361 Posts
This kind of engine swap was not uncommon at the time. The Twin Cam Lotus may be more developed, but the GTA engine certainly has the unusual and cool factor going for it.

Andrew

·
Registered
3,624 Posts