Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone:

I am new to the Bulletin Board, but have had lots of Alfas in the past--all with either Spica injection or Webers.

Recently, I got a black 1985 Alfa Graduate that my sister bought new. It has been babied and regularly serviced and it in top condition.

Last month, I drove it to the Italian Car Day in Atlanta--a 200 mile trip. The car ran beautifully even through some rain.

Once home, the car sat outside overnight and by the next morning all hell had broken loose. I have listed the details of the Great Exploding Spider below. Any diagnostic or repair ideas that would help me get the car back on the road would be appreciated. So here goes:

THE CAR: 1985 Alfa Graduate, Black, with 119,000 miles, well maintained.
Jetronic fuel injection with a flap-operated air flow meter.
The distributor has no primary wire or vacuum advance. The bell housing has two sensors on the passenger side.

(What is this system called: L-Jet? Motronic? I bought the Probst book but don't know which section to read.)

SYMPTONS: Car starts well and idles well, but just above idle the car runs rough and misses. At about 1/2 throttle the engine runs and quits, comes close to dying--but never quite does. Above 1/2 throttle on up to wide open the engine still runs poorly then dies, then runs, etc. Every time the engine "catches" there is a hug backfire--a long flame and plume of black smoke out of the tail pipe. It is all very violent and frequent and could provide the background effects for a war movie.

The tachometer seems to read OK at idle but clearly reads low above idle and takes a huge and sudden jump up just before every exploding backfire.

REPAIR PLAN:
Plan?
First I plan to clean all the grounds. So far I have found the battery ground, the ground strap on the bell housing, and the black wire cluster on the right valve cover. Others???