Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello, I am the proud new owner of a 1965 Alfa GTC. I have been creeping around this site for a few months. The info on here is amazing. I am new to alfas so I figured it was time to make a formal introduction. The car is in amazing condition with shipping plastic still on parts of the interior. This car was a garage find so to speak hence it has been off the road in a garage and somewhat disassembled since 1972. It seems to have no rust but had some severe body damage along the fenders and doors as if it was a magnet to every shopping cart and car door in town. Both sides along the body line were banged in repeatedly and the passenger door was caved in. I wouldn’t believe that there was no rust but had just about the whole car down to the bare metal and not a spot to be found. Since I have had it I have replaced the passenger door skin reshaped the body lines and a new coat of 501 Rosso red applied. The motor and transmission have been out of the car and torn down for 30+ years so this next step is going to be quite the challenge. Thanks for your help in advance.

Attachments

·
Push hard and live
9,168 Posts
FYI.... Alfa, not Alpha.

·
Premium Member
1,311 Posts
Of all the cars to find in a "barn"!

Tell us all about finding and buying this incredible car; please.

·
Registered
726 Posts
Yes please tell about the car and any history you know of. Tis a very rare animal you have caught.

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
It was more of a garage than a barn hahaha. The car belonged to an older gentleman who purchased it in the early 70s. Not long after he disassembled it to do some improvements and it sat that way until 2014. It was so buried under junk in the garage you could hardly see it.

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Don't mind my wooden brake pads in the brake calipers. I was testing brake system and don't have my pads yet.

·