Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have an 87 spider that is a family car since new. All documents and ALL manuals. I have been the care taker of it for about 17+ years. During that time I have been able to get it running reliably for only about max of two months over the years. When ever it sits for a few weeks it will not start.
I have had over time, shops rebuild all the different systems, and six months ago did the fuel system full rebuild. Including a tank flush.
Now again it ran for a month and now it will not start.
I replaced the ignition system plugs, wires, coil, all that Jaz, new battery with a charger on it, no start.
It turns over strong, just doesn’t catch.
I’m looking into sensors? I’m not a mechanic, I don’t know how to test for things, I have a friend that used to help until COVID.
With guidance, I’m willing to get dirty and wrench everyday with it. I’m retired, currently teaching at a local college, so plenty of time.
Just don’t know where to look.
This is a family car that will be handed down to the next generation with my collection, I hate that it doesn’t run.
Looking for assistance to give me some ideas of where to look for the problem? I would really appreciate it. No one in The Phoenix Arizona, Area knows anything about them, and I don’t trust the new dealerships.
Like I said, I catch on fast, understand how to follow instructions, but do not know how this thing works, but I want to.
So slow step by step suggestions. I can figure things out with research, if I’m given the direction.
Thank you.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Wish I could help, but I’m in a similar boat with my 86 Spider. (It does run tho.. or did before putting it in winter storage)

Wishing you luck and hope to learn with your journey too.

Edit: similar boat = family car, dad was original owner. Have manuals and original paperwork (including window sticker).
Also have very limited knowledge but willing to learn.