Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a student and therefore financially restricted to carry out my own repairs. My 1996 155 1.8 t.spark failed on brake balance. will I need to replace the master cylinder? I have only recently blead the brakes. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanking you in anticipation,

AGC155

·
1966-2013
13,741 Posts
Left to right or fore to aft?

If left to right, you're likely looking at another bleed, a sticking caliper might not be out of the question, and a good inspection of the hard and soft lines to check for restrictions and/or kinks never hurt anyone, with the outside possibility that it's an alignment issue (toe specifically) rather than a brake issue.

If fore to aft, it may be correct and the inspectors don't know it due to the thingies put in to prevent the rears from locking. (the only time most folks can get the rears to lock is when going in reverse)

Hopefully someone with a bit more insight will trip along and offer something a bit more useful.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Brake force

Hello Tifosi, thank you for your insight. The wheels are not binding in the calipers and I've only just had the wheels aligned. I think it is more to do with brake force distribution between the front wheels, according to the report.

I've been looking at the workshop manual and the brake system is looking mighty complicated. There's the pump, the servo, the hydraulic-electronic unit, the regulator, I don't know where to start my diagnosis.

Regards,

AGC155

·
1966-2013
13,741 Posts
If it's left to right on the front, then a bleed, then another bleed followed by inspection of the soft lines (twisted, kinked, rotted, internal collapse) and hard lines (kinked, clotted with poo)

While not impossible for the issue to be in the master cylinder, it's rather unlikely.