Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
395 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Bear with me as this is my first try at uploading images..

These are original promo pictures (factory?) of a 2600 SZ prototype that never made it to production. I don't know which year these pictures are from or if this was a show car. Although some styling cues did make it into the final model, there are very few similarities to the actual production car. I see hints of the GTZ in the tail design, a C-pillar reminiscent of the Lancia Zagatos, and an early dash that looks to be from the 2000/2600 spider series? No one can ever accuse Alfa of playing it safe in the 60's! Can you imagine rolling up to a club meet in one of these?

Attachments

·
Registered
9,287 Posts
This is AR 856001. The pictures were probably taken either in late February or early March of 1963, most likely just before the re-bodied car shown at the car show in Geneva. There are 2 more pictures from this series as can be seen here:

Attachments

·
Registered
9,287 Posts
When the car was introduced at the Salone di Torino in October, 1962, it had a slightly different nose (no ugly bump on the hood, and no gaps through the side of the front fenders) and a very different rear:

Attachments

·
Registered
395 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
This is AR 856001. The pictures were probably taken either in late February or early March of 1963, most likely just before the re-bodied car shown at the car show in Geneva. There are 2 more pictures from this series as can be seen here:
Thanks Ruedi, I knew you could clear this up.

Phil

·
Registered
9,287 Posts
Presumably in the 1970s, the car was further butchered by the Alfa Romeo museum (where the car is now located), when ugly hood scoops reminiscent of the 1900 SSZ were added and the car repainted:

Attachments

·
Registered
9,287 Posts
So the car exists today, as modified in the Factory museum? Impressive research and great pics, too, Reudi!