Alfa Romeo Forums banner

Emission Issue

4K views 26 replies 12 participants last post by  jthops 
#1 ·
I'm still pretty new to Alfas and this incredible community, but you all have been a fantastic help already. I'm hoping you can help me problem solve another issue with my 84 Spider.

The car runs great, but I've always known it runs rich. I took it in for an emissions test (I don't need it - exempt in Utah), and I was really surprised at the results. All CO numbers were great (.74 idle, .72 loaded) and the loaded hydrocarbon (HC) number was good (104); but the idle HC was 1508 (220 standard)! So, I need some advice problem solving.

What I know or what I've already done:
-Engine compression is good - 125 across the board (dry).
-I had already suspected a vacuum leak so I replaced all the vacuum lines - however, I'm not sure about the injectors leaking (air).
-Plugs are new - I'm not sure about the age of the wires, but they look good.
-CAT temps are good on the in and out sides. Not sure about O2 sensor.
-I replaced all filters - air, oil, fuel - and fluids.
-No noticeable misfires.

The car really runs really well, but that HC at idle is far too high. Ideas?

Thanks a ton for your help.

Ty

See less See more
#2 ·
I'm not familiar with that generation car. Do they have spica direct injection? The spica are known for getting out of alignment. Even out of alignment they can run pretty well but to get good emission numbers you might need to get it tuned up. Just my personal opinion. I could be totally wrong.

#6 ·
I appreciate all the feedback so far! The 84 is EFI - so nothing to adjust from that standpoint.

I did just replace the plugs, but they already don't look great, which makes me wonder about my gap. My assumption when I ordered the plugs was that they were set to correct gap (which was stated to be correct from the parts vendor). They are set at .9mm. Is this correct, or is a bad assumption on my part?