Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a 78 spider and now the windshield wipers, head lights heater fan and brake lights are inoperative the horn and radio works the car starts and runs I have been informed that this is most likely a ground issue as I look at the schematic it shows ground points and junction boxes can any one help me locate where theses are in the car and also suggest a good electrical maintenance book i am very new to this so if this post is redundent sorry thanks

·
Administrator
17,461 Posts
Welcome to the BB! How about some pictures of your car? We likes pictures!

I'd agree that the first place to look are all the ground connections. I believe that Alfa used black wires for all the ground connections so search all over your car for any black wires and clean & tighten those. It'd probably be a good idea to remove the battery's negative cable to make sure you don't accidentally cause a short anywhere.

On our '84 Spider there are a number of ground wires up under and behind the dash, at the instruments themselves plus a gang of ground wires at the left, outside corner of the dash. Next there are various grounds in the engine bay - one or two along the top of the radiator support tend to be over-looked as they are buried under the harness running across there.

While you are at it, clean the battery terminals and cables plus the end of the negative cable where it bolts to the body.

As for books, Pat Braden's books about Alfa's are good general start. They are not specific about any particular model but they'll give you enough info that you'll have a good idea of what you are dealing with.

I have a copy of the Alfa shop manual on CD from Car Disc (<- clickable link, BTW). And it includes copies of the owner's manual, convertible top manual, TSB's, etc.