Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My car has big driveshaft vibration.
Someone have told me that when someone changed the donuts or when the gearbox/clutch was repaired they didn´t assemble everything the way it was and because of that it is out of balance.
How can I solve this?

It is a big vibration, I can feel some parts of the interior of the car vibrating/doing noise when I rev the engine 3500-4000 plus rpm.

·
Registered
4,090 Posts
There are places that can balance driveshafts.
Jes

·
Registered
1,330 Posts
I'm no expert, but I have been told by every ALFA mechanic I've ever used, that before disassembling a drive shaft for Guibo replacement... you need to mark all the joints so they go back the way they started. Sometimes they use paint, sometimes yellow tire crayon.

Every ALFA mechanic knows this. So, I'm guessing you went to someone who is not familiar with ALFAs. The only way I've heard to correct this is to go back and try every possible connection combination until you find the original arrangement. This means days of work removing, turning, testing, and reassembling everything... until you've eliminated the vibration you didn't have before he touched your car.

I'd say your mechanic owes you a bunch of hours correcting what he screwed up. I ran into that once myself, in trying to use a mechanic who said he could work on any car. Same exact issue! I won't make that mistake again.

I'd be happy to be corrected, if someone out there does not agree.

·
Registered
214 Posts