Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Friends:

I purchased new Distributor Cap, Wires, and Rotor from Classic Alfa.

I realized during installation that the numbering of the new cap does not match the numbering of the old cap. Please see pictures. My drawing shows the new cap numbering and orientation.

Old Cap is Magnetti Marelli. New cap uncertain, but from Classic Alfa.

Question - which numbering sequence do I use for new cap? Yes this is my first time performing a tune-up. Very surprised that the new cap wouldn't match old cap numbering system.

Also, has anyone had problems with the Classic Alfa Distributor Wires being way too short to reach the driver's side of engine spark plugs? Not to mention the silicone wires are resting on the engine in order to reach. Very disappointing, unless I am completely doing something incorrectly.

Please help as this has derailed my weekend project !

Thank you,

Jamison USA

Attachments

·
Premium Member
14,002 Posts
The engine firing order is 1 4 3 2 And the plug wires must be in that same order. Get the motor to TDC on compression stroke on #1 cylinder. Note which electrode the rotor is pointing to and put #1 plug wire in that hole. Then put the others in in the firing order and in the clockwise direction. Then write the wire numbers on the outside of the cap with a sharpie.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hello:

I was able to find the proper order on the alfamontreal.com website = 1-3-4-8-6-5-7-2. Good picture of an actual cap as well.

So the numbers on the new Distributor Cap from Alfa Classics is absolutely incorrect for the Montreal. Buyer be aware.