Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, although 'new' to this forum, I was once registered before but lost my login details, so here I am with a new identity.

Last winter I rebuilt the gearbox in my S2 Spider, and thanks to all of you on AlfaBB who unknowingly gave me help with the many previous posts and photographs. I was a car mechanic back in the 70's, but never built a 105 gearbox, so the help I got here was invaluable.

The reason for rebuilding the box was a worn/noisy first motion shaft bearing, all the syncros were OK, including 2nd. I got a donor box, so replaced dog gears and syncro rings with the best of what I had, all just about perfect were used. I also used the selector forks from the donor as they were better than the original. I managed to get a genuine new first motion shaft bearing from Germany and the output shaft bearing was replaced with one from Alfaholics. As those bearing would be above the oil level, so I used some grease in them to give them a good start in life. I refilled with Redline NS oil.

So, the parts that were 'new' to my 'box were: New first motion shaft and output shaft bearings, a couple of dog gears and syncro rings plus the selector forks.

I have been getting an oil leak, a table spoon of oil on the garage floor after a run out, we've done around 7 - 800 miles since the rebuild. The oil leak has continued, first off I thought it was overfilling coming out of the breathers so it would settle down, as there is no signs of 'throw' across the underside of the car which might indicate a duff output shaft oil seal. I just drained the oil to see how much is in there, just over 1 litre!