Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm a newbie with cars and am considering buying my first car - a 1984 Toyota Camry. I know the owner and can trust him with the maintenance. I'm a student and he's selling it for a price under my budget (1900$), plus it's got only 83,000 miles on it. So the deal kinda looks good to me.

However, thought I'd confirm and get some tips from the experts (especially those of you who're actually using a 1980s car as a daily ride). I only intend to take it to and from work (which is a ten min. ride from home).

Any suggestions on whether to go ahead with it? What problems am I supposed to expect with such an old car (I don't want to end up spending more on it for repairs than what I bought it for!)? Is it worth 1900$ or should I try to get the price down further?

Thanks!

·
Registered
113 Posts
An 84 Camry with only 83K miles seems like a reasonable decision. Not sure if $1900 is a good deal but you can research used car pricing on websites such as edmunds.com. I have a 2004 Highlander with 120K miles on it and it has never been in the shop for anything other than oil changes, brake pads, etc. If possible, I would recommend talking to the mechanic your friend uses to see what he thinks about the car's condition. Would highly recommend you spend $50 bucks to take the car to an independent mechanic and have him look it over real good.