Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
757 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a lot of experience with older 1600 cc Nord engined cars (particularily Duettos) but recently have been thinking about getting a 164 as a "daily driver" at least during the summer (it would be better than paying for the gas we use on our Jeep Grand Cherokee). But I'm a not completely sure about the various models of 164's that were produced. I know that the Q's are rare and relatively expensive. But what should I consider as an alternative in the 164 range? What are the trade-off's regarding cost versus exclusivity versus performance? For example, is an early 90's 164S better than a mid-90's 164LS?

I would want a manual (5 speed) but other than that, I'm a very much Newbie when it comes to later Alfa sedans.

Thanks for any input you may have.

·
Premium Member
9,741 Posts
I have a lot of experience with older 1600 cc Nord engined cars (particularily Duettos) but recently have been thinking about getting a 164 as a "daily driver" at least during the summer (it would be better than paying for the gas we use on our Jeep Grand Cherokee). But I'm a not completely sure about the various models of 164's that were produced. I know that the Q's are rare and relatively expensive. But what should I consider as an alternative in the 164 range? What are the trade-off's regarding cost versus exclusivity versus performance? For example, is an early 90's 164S better than a mid-90's 164LS?

I would want a manual (5 speed) but other than that, I'm a very much Newbie when it comes to later Alfa sedans.

Thanks for any input you may have.
Here is a good place to start:

http://www.digest.net/alfa/FAQ/164/index.html

Also check the post most recent called buyers guide. Good info there.