Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
959 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had more or less decided to swap my Triumph Spitfire for a beat up Alfa Spider, but came across this cute Alfa GT 1300 Junior. I though I'd better make use of the collective wisdom of this list to make my decision, as I am no expert in these cars.

At first it looks really nice, all complete and no apparent rust, but.... The owner supposedly took care of all the rust i 1998 and made a complete repaint, but either didnt do it right, or has left the car out in the rain since. There is no rust in the boot, engine bay of floor pans, but rust bubbles are visible at the wheelarches, boot lid, doors, door openings, etc. No visible rust, but you know its there. Now the question, is; how bad can I expect this to be?

Interior trim is nice, apart from the front seat which needs retrimming. The seat frame is also broken inside, so the entire seat needs to be taken apart and welded.

The engine and bay looks scruffy, but the engine runs really well. The owner has installed a 1750 unit - is this a sin in Alfa purists eyes? The original 1300 engine comes with the car. Doesnt some part of the air filter seem to be missing in the picture?

The car has stainless steel bumpers, and all chrome and trim seems to be intact. The exhaust is rather rusty, and probably needs to be changed - sounded OK though.

Finally, the car comes with a Becker Monte Carlo radio - didnt work, or wasnt connected - but looked really period and cool!

Thanks for any comments or advice - it is really needed! :)

·
Premium Member
6,681 Posts