Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,166 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Didn't see any recent threads on this sealant topic on Nord 2L engines, so figured I'd put it out there.

Question 1: My machine shop (much experience with Alfas) advises that I should use sealant (aviation, because it remains pliable) on the liner o rings. I'll likely do that, but curious if that's what most folks are doing these days. My block is pretty smooth and clean where the liners seat.

Question 2: Assuming I use a sealant, does that mean I have to get everything from the liners all the way through the head installed in the same day before the sealant dries? I'm no pro at this, so prefer to take my time. Could I just seat the liners and torque (10 lb) down the liner hold down tools instead and let the sealant dry? And then take my time with everything else?

Appreciate any guidance.

·
Registered
920 Posts
question 1, yes i do that also

question 2, seal it, mount it, holded it and torque it down and take your time to do the rest

·
Registered
3,855 Posts
Can you share the sealant your Alfa experienced machine shop is using.

Thx

Ken

·
Super Moderator
10,584 Posts
I smear some RTV around the base of the liners before inserting them. So it's less that I'm sealing the O rings than sealing the liner-block interface. But sure, some RTV gets pushed up onto the O ring as the liner is inserted.

I never even thought about the liner needing to move down a precise amount as the head gets torqued down - just let them bottom out and installed my homemade hold-downs (sections of electrical conduit + large washers). Since I'm using flexible RTV, the liners can still move relative to the block; I'm just increasing the spring constant by adding the stiffness of the RTV to the stiffness of the O ring. Epoxy wouldn't behave this way - with a hardening adhesive, yea, torquing down the head would be prudent.