Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Premium Member
71 Berlina 74 GTV 17 Giulia Q4
6,471 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Embarking on replacing the front crossmember. The shop that fixed my car from when my buddy let it roll down a hill got it in off center. one wheel is into the wheelwell to far and the other is out of the wheelwell to far. I've been putting it off for a couple of years but the motor is performing so well it just ain't right to have it in a below par chassis. It's not going to be easy and to be honest I'm a little intimidated. I just need to approach it like my first gearbox rebuild by breaking into manageable steps.

·
Registered
3,888 Posts
Watching with interest.

Ken

·
Premium Member
6,471 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The factory manual says to chip out the welds and whatnot with an air chisel. I can attest to the fact it's easier said than done. The book says 690mm between the skirts at the steering box/idler. I've got 679.

·
Premium Member
6,471 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
I gave this diagram minus today's numbers to the shop that worked on my car over 3 years ago. Even supplied them with a new crossmember which they put in exactly where the old one was. I got my other crossmember placed and the dimensions are exactly what the factory calls for. I did have to move the left side ahead some but that only took less than half a day. Why they couldn't do that back then is beyond me. Everything is lining up great and all I can say is FINALLY! (edit) The diagram is the last image, it was supposed to be first.

·
Administrator
12,587 Posts
Quality work here

Pete

·
Premium Member
21,714 Posts