Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, With Covid on the loose, and So Cal Alfa club stuff on hold, I've been filling some of my time playing around with stained glass projects...some of them Alfa themed...This one is an attempt at my '71 GTV apexing a corner at a time trial.

Laguna Seca511.jpg

And here a work still in progress on a slightly stylized version of the ALFA logo.

alfa art 2.jpg

I'm new at this and it takes me a lot of time, but it seems to go by fast...kinda like my lap times.

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
That's REALLY excellent! What's the diameter? I think the one I'm working on is about 11". I'm not very good with details yet. Also is yours leaded? I'm still working only with solder.

·
Registered
1,795 Posts
I did not make it so I cannot take the credit. I acquired it from someone I knew who was moving out of state. It is leaded, I’m not with it now but it’s either 20 or 24” diameter.

·
Registered
7,312 Posts
I did not make it so I cannot take the credit. I acquired it from someone I knew who was moving out of state. It is leaded, I’m not with it now but it’s either 20 or 24” diameter.
I was just going to ask if you made it!

Looks really nice.

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
One of these days I'll graduate to lead. I had started weekly classes just before Christmas. Then Covid popped up and we had to postpone. Still I'm practicing and hitting You-Tubes to try to learn more.

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I was able to procure some more of the mottled green glass to finish the serpent. It's been cleaned up and then polished (I like to use Mequire's Carnuba). Then I applied the copper patina to the solder.

ALFA Logo 6.jpg ALFA Logo 7.jpg

Today I'll start making a Mission style Red Oak frame for the glass.

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Thanks!

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
ALFA Logo 11.jpg