Alfa Romeo Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2,156 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys - after thinking my oil leak was lower than this I found today that it is coming from the upper section of the engine. A bit hard to see here but there is a lot of oil leaking out from here.

It is the most wet/oily on the plane where the engine block and transmission meet. I'm still learning my Alfa engines but does this suggest any specific seal(s) as a likely or common issue?

Thanks for being patient, I asked earlier about this but got the location of the leak wrong.

·
But Mad North-Northwest
10,528 Posts
Valve cover gasket, valve cover half moon seals, or head gasket are most likely candidates. The big hex plug you see there at the back of the head can also leak through the threads.

So lots of opportunities for leakage from the top. I think mine was leaking from all of them at once.

·
Registered
2,045 Posts
Might be an oil leak from the head gasket. There are pressurized oil passages which have O rings, plus the drain down oil returning from lubricating the cams has several unpressurized returns through the head gasket. Can you get an inspection mirrow and take a look at the rear joint between the cylinder head and rhe rear of the engine block? You might want to quarter wash down the rear of the engine/front of the transmission in order to see any new oil leaking back there after the wash job. Also, you can buy an additive for your engine oil which will show up a leak when searched for with a black light. There is a kit for doing this sold at some Auto Part Stores.

·
Registered
2,156 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys. Very much appreciate the coaching.

She needs a valve job at this point so seems like I should add resealing all of these to the "now is the time to do this" list right?

·
But Mad North-Northwest
10,528 Posts
Well, yeah, if the head's gotta come off anyway that should take care of all those items.